Keep working hard and efficiently and you can excel. A few more years and you'll be done with architecture school, hang in there and try to accomplish something in your wimpy life. I say this because I was terrible at drawing, painting, sculpting in school but in the profession excel. John and I were never all that close but even 20 years later I still remember John’s sketches; they were ridiculously good. Architecture is a conversation with history, contemporary values, and with other disciplines, among other things. In or out of architecture school, architecture is all about perseverance and willpower; don’t give up when you find yourself struggling. Hi all, I am a first year architecture student looking for advice. Really, I was lost. Architecture school can be an unexpected challenge for many students. Then I had a professor who was more pragmatic in his teaching approach and I fell back in love with the major. there is no shame in that. I know first hand that the architecture school culture can easily mask off signs of mental illness for actual students that have a mental illness. 18 tips to help you succeed and excel in your architecture studies A lot of us know that studying architecture is tough. If you would like to contact Ulysses directly, you can email him at underdogarchstudent@gmail.com, Filed Under: Architects, Do you want to be an Architect?, Guest Posts Tagged With: Architecture School, design studio, Do you want to be an Architect, Guest post. I can't come up with designs out of thin air because I feel like I'm good at problem solving but I can't just create for the sake of it. If you want to understand how different rooms might work at different levels and ceiling heights, look at Adolf Loos. Located directly in the heart of the city, MSA is a collaboration between two universities: the Manchester Metropolitan University and the University of Manchester. In architecture school, everyone spends 100% of their time designing and 0% of … Critique your